Crustier than a patch jacket left on the floor of a squat, Sweden's USURPRESS – containing current and former members of UNCURBED, TYRANT, INSISION and DELLAMORTE – formed in 2010 to play tomb-robbing d-beat death metal.


Releasing their debut album "Trenches Of The Netherworld" in 2012, USURPRESS have a split lined up with BENT SEA, the old school death/grind project of NAPALM DEATH's Shane Embury, ABORTED's Sven De Caluwé and SOILWORK's Dirk Verbeuren, for the first half of 2013, so by the time they hit OBSCENE EXTREME this deathcrust machine will be unstoppable!!!


Usurpress is a death metal-band (of sorts) formed in Uppsala, Sweden May 2010. The musical aim of founding members Steffe Pettersson (vocals), Påhl Sundström (guitar) and Calle Andersson (drums) was, and still is, to combine the bestiality of old death metal and the undying hate of true hardcore/punk. The band was later joined by renowned death metal-expert Daniel Ekeroth (bass). The members all come from different musical backgrounds but their common ground is the love and understanding for all kinds of dark and aggressive underground music. Usurpress calls their music “death crust” as they write short, aggressive songs based around weird, dissonant death metal riffs and raw, primitive d-beat drumming. It has to be said right now that this eclectic mixture of styles, spiced with hints of prog rock and psychedelica, is not for everybody. However, most people will certainly enjoy their aggressive live performances. The quartet’s debut offering, the 4-song demo simply called Demo 2010, soon led to record deals with various European underground labels and so far the band has released the mini-LP In Permanent Twilight (2011) and the full length album Trenches of the Netherworld (2012). In June-July 2012 Usurpress toured Europe for the first time.


Release date Release name Media
2012 Trenches of the Netherworld CD, LP
2012 In Permanent Twilight MC (TAPE)
2011 Usurpress/Bombs of Hades EP


User must be logged on, user login.