AXIS OF DESPAIR - Tattooed Corpse


One of the newer Swedish acts but with experienced musicians. AXIS OF DESPAIR!!! Just in these days we recall the death of Mieszko, the grindcore legend and the legendary bandmaster of Nasum. AXIS OF DESPAIR, the band from Sweden, Örebro, continues the legacy of this legendary band. No surprise actually as one of the most appropriate persons, Anders Jakobson, will be there behind the drums!!! He joined forces with the members of the bands Coldworker, Livet som insats, Nervgift, Overtorture and Volturyon.

AXIS OF DESPAIR were formed in spring 2014 and since they have released two 7-inch recordings full of total grindcore that does crush everything alive!!! AXIS OF DESPAIR plans to record their full-length album in 2018 and we are happy because having them for the OEF 2018 is a great piece of news for the beginning of the new year!!!


Axis of Despair is a grindcore band from Örebro, Sweden. Although the first incarnation of the band can be dated back to the last days of 2013, the band came together as a fully working unit in the spring of 2014 when the line-up was finalized and the band name was decided.

A number of songs had been in the works for quite some time and in November the same year the first samples from the band was released on Facebook and YouTube, giving just a slight taste of Axis of Despair's grindcore.

During May and June of 2015 Axis of Despair went into Soundlab Studios in their hometown and recorded 12 songs for two 7" EP's. These EP’s were released during 2015 and 2016 as “Time and Again” (Selfmadegod Records, November 2015) and “Mankind Crawls” (Give Praise Records and Spela Snabbare Records, October 2016).

In June 2016 Axis of Despair debuted live supporting Black Breath in Stockholm. Two additional shows have been held in their hometown after that. Most of 2016 and 2017 the band spent in the rehearsal room writing songs for an upcoming full length album.

During the summer of 2017 Axis of Despair yet again went into Soundlab Studios recording a total of 26 songs to be released as an album and possible a third 7” EP. The album is to be expected during 2018.

Axis of Despair features former and present members of band such as Nasum, Livet som insats, Coldworker, Nervgift, Overtorture and Volturyon.


Joel Fornbrant: Vocals
Oskar Pålsson: Bass
Anders Jakobson: Drums
Kristofer Jankarls: Guitar, backing vocals


Release date Release name Media
2016 “Mankind Crawls” 7” EP EP
2015 “Time and Again” 7” EP


User must be logged on, user login.