HOUWITSER Netherland



The Dutch death metal scene may not have the international clout of Florida or Stockholm, but those who know look to the Netherlands for crushing riffs and barbarous low-end war-metal, and HOUWITSER are the perfect example.

Formed in 1997 and having shared members with fellow warbands THANATOS, HAIL OF BULLETS and SINISTER, the band ceased hostilities in 2004 with four albums worth of battle honours.

Reforming in 2008 around original members MICHEL ALDERLIEFSTEN (guitars) and MIKE VAN MASTRIGT (vocals), 2010 saw them unleash a fresh campaign with the thunderous 'BESTIAL ATROCITY', and now their rolling blitzkrieg of raw, old school death metal is going to bring destruction to the most fitting of locations... the Trutnov Battlefield!!!


Houwitser originally started in 1997 by Michel (ex-Sinister) and Aad (Sinister) completing the line-up with vocalist Mike (ex-Sinister) and bassplayer Theo (Hail of Bullets). The debut album'Death.. but not buried' was released by Displeased Records in the spring of 1999 and got great reviews and good sales. The end of that year Houwitser parted with their singer Mike. Houwitser’s second album ‘Embrace Damnation’ was recorded with vocalist Arjaan who left in 2001 and got replaced by Stan Blonk. Houwitser signed with Osmose Productions and ‘Rage inside the womb’ their third album saw the light of day in 2002. This was the start of a tour all over the entire European continent. In 2004, after the release of the album ‘Damage assessment‘, the band split up. Displeased Records re-released the debut album ‘Death... but not buried’ with 7 bonus tracks and new artwork.

The split of Houwitser left a bad vibe with Michel and Stan. In 2008 the Dutch death metal-commandos wrote a new chapter in the history of Houwitser, with the rebirth of the ferocious Terror Legion. In 2009 Houwitser signed a new record deal with the American Sevared Records, who released in early 2010 the 5th full-length album of Houwitser ‘Bestial Atrocity’. The Dutch death metal commandos are back to strike again, heavier and more brutal than ever! Marching over stages, blasting their thundering death metal. Watch out for Houwitser!

Terror Legion:

Mike van Mastrigt - Vocals

Michel Alderliefsten - Guitar

Richard Gielen - Guitar

Marten van Kruijssen - Drums

Ramon Ploeg - Bass


Release date Release name Media
2010 Bestial Atrocity
2009 Sledgehammer Redemption
2003 Damage Assessment
2002 Rage inside the Womb


User must be logged on, user login.